Meet Cheeky!

Born in Canada, raised in the States, a mother from Trinidad, and a father from Harlem….as you can see, crossing borders and clashing cultures has come as easy as breathing to me.

At 13 years old, I traveled independently of my family for the first time. It was a marine biology trip to Bermuda, where I would encounter new sounds, a new climate, and colors of every pastel with palm trees as the backdrop. Like lightening striking a tree, wanderlust was electrified into my blood.

Fast forward several years and I’m a recent college graduate, fresh out of a B.A. program in Anthropology (the study of people and cultures). Having traveled several countries in Europe and lived a year in Paris, I was ready for a new adventure. And just as quickly as that thought appeared in my mind, an English Teaching position at an international school was falling into my lap. The obvious answer to such a situation is to pack your bags, get your visa, and jump on a plane.

Within a couple months of graduation, I found myself traveling to the other side of the planet, to Vietnam! Follow me on my journey in Bac Ninh and Hanoi as another ex-pat among a population of 89 million people. This year promises to be one hell of a ride….

 

Bruge, Belgium

6 thoughts on “Meet Cheeky!

Leave a Reply!