Traveling 101: The Labels Associated With You

I am tall. It’s a fact–the average height of an American woman is 5’4″ and with me standing at 5’8″, I am definitely above the average.  What was unexpected when I was younger, yet that I have learned over the years, is the way my height comes into play when interacting with others abroad.

In Vietnam, I am taller than almost everyone.  Add the fact that I wear heels regularly, and you’re suddenly standing in the presence of a giant.  It is not uncommon for me to be stared at, pointed to, and children near me jumping up and down to try and reach my height.  Somehow, that one label–tall–changes my daily interactions compared to those that are of normal height.

Yet, to be sure, my labels don’t just stop there:

woman, educated, person of color, middle-class, North American, kinky haired, near-sighted, native English speaker….

These labels and attributes unconsciously or consciously affect my communications with people when I am abroad.  More so in Vietnam than in Europe, as I am now living in an ethnically homogeneous country.  I recognize the privileges and consequences of these characteristics and at times accommodate for them.  I understand that my experience as a black, tall, near-sighted woman is going to differ from other travelers in Vietnam.  And that is what makes traveling so much fun, frustrating, and worth while….the differences!

What labels make up you?          vegetarian, religious, biracial, disabled, etc?

Koi fish temple

11 thoughts on “Traveling 101: The Labels Associated With You

  1. Appreciating the dedication you put into your website and detailed information you present.

    It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed information. Great read!
    I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    Like

  2. An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a co-worker who had been doing
    a little homework on this. And he in fact ordered me lunch due to the fact that I discovered
    it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanks for spending the time to talk about this subject here on your blog.

    Like

  3. Its like you read my thoughts! You appear to grasp a
    lot about this, like you wrote the ebook in it or something.
    I feel that you simply could do with some p.c. to pressure the message home a little bit, however other
    than that, this is great blog. A great read. I will certainly be back.

    Like

Leave a Reply!